After the breakup of the Stalkers in 1967, Mick Box and David Byron formed Spice which went on to become Uriah Heep.  When former Gods member Paul Newton was added it pretty much solidified the unit.  No official album was ever released, only one single.  Other tracks are found on a compilation known as "The Lansdowne Tapes" which has been reissued several times and expanded to include rare Uriah Heep out takes.  The single A & B side were included on the Uriah Heep box set "Time Of Revelation"

UK single released November 29, 1968
What About The Music (A side)
In Love (B side)

Official Lineup:
Mick Box (Guitars)
David Byron (Lead Vocals)
Paul Newton (Bass)
Alex Napier (Drums)

Other known musicians or members:
Colin Wood (Keyboards) 
Nigel Pegrum (Drums)
Barry Green (Bass)
Alf (Bass)


Tracks known from Spice:

(sound files marked in yellow)

1. What About The Music  
2. In Love  
3. Born In A Trunk 
4. Magic Lantern 
5. Astranaza 
6. I Want You Babe (Behind The Green Shed Blues)
7. Celebrate 
8. Schoolgirl 
9. Born In A Trunk (Instrumental) 


Spice 1968 Press Release Letter

Spice 1969 Press Release Letter

Back To Discography Page