King Biscuit Flower Hour

The King Biscuit Flower Hour was a long running radio broadcast syndicated by the DIR Radio Network.   Broadcast on Sunday nights it presented live recordings of hundreds of acts from 1973 till 1993 when they stopped recording.   The show repeated past performances until 2007 when it was cancelled.  When the founder Bob Mevrowitz sold ownership, a new venture was founded in King Biscuit Flower Hour Records in 1992.   Dozens of commercial releases have came from those recordings but licensing of others prevented them from ever surfacing.  The King Biscuit archives are now under direction of Wolfgang's Vault and some shows are streamed online or available for download at their website.

The original recording of this release was recorded in February 1974.   The tape was traded for years until the recording was cleared for release in 1997.   The original source of this show isn't up to most things you would expect from an official live release, the mix drops in certain places leaving gaps in the levels or certain instruments.  It's still a part of history however and as one fan [Dale Fredericks] who was there on that date wrote in the linernotes, "Needless to say, I was "hoarse" for a good two days afterward and told everybody and anybody about the show.  We listened to Heep music continuously for another month without a break, reliving that night again and again."

Recorded February 8, 1974
San Diego Sports Arena
San Diego, California
Original Release 1997

Original Album Credits:

David Byron: Lead Vocals
Ken Hensley: Keyboards, Guitars, Vocals
Mick Box: Guitars, Vocals
Lee Kerslake: Drums, Vocals
Gary Thain: Bass, Vocals

Executive Producers: Len Handler, Steve Ship
Mixed by: Gary Lycons at the Hit Factory
Assistant Engineer: Rob Murphy
Mastered by: Scott Hull at Masterdisk
Front Cover Photo: Dagmar (courtesy of Star File)
Additional Photos Provided by: Brain Chambers, David White, Richard Wagner, and Rodrigo Werneck
Layout / Design: Amy Fritch
Production Coordinator: Jack Ball
Liner Notes: Ken Hensley and Dale Fredericks
ŠKing Biscuit Flower Hour Records, Inc.

Track Listing:

1. Easy Livin'
2. Sweet Lorraine
3. Stealin'
4. July Morning
5. Seven Stars
6. Gypsy
7. Drum Solo
8. Sweet Freedom
9. Look At Yourself
10. Love Machine
11. Medley: (Roll Over Beethoven, Blue Suede Shoes, Hound Dog, At The Hop)


Back To Heep Live Albums | Back To Discography Page