The Studio 33 LPs

Although Avenue Records began putting out recordings in early 1967, the releases were only available on 7” EPs.  This set of LPs were released under the Studio 33 label but controlled by Avenue.   The late 1968 releases were an early introduction to what would be followed up as Avenue’s Top 12 series.   Note that the first album listed starts with the number 10-009; it’s unclear if any earlier releases were available in this series.  

All of these recordings were completed at City Of London Studios .   Early musical credits are listed to The Clive Allan Orchestra and Singers.   Former Tornados guitarist Alan Caddy is credited as Musical Director and is the same person as Clive Allan.  Production is credited to Mel Gordon [rumored to be Avenue owner Gordon Melville].   Most of these recordings were overlapped with Avenues EP series as well as Marble Arch’s Chartbuster series.  

Please be aware these are track listings for information purposes only and no claim is professed that all of these tracks were recorded by David Byron.


Album Title:  No Title  

Label / Release Number:  Studio 33 [AVE 10-009]  

Release Date:  September 1968  

Track Listing:  Hey Jude / I've Gotta Get A Message To You / Lady Willpower
This Guy's In Love With You / Hold Me Tight / High In The Sky
Those Were The Days / Do It Again / Help Yourself / Jesamine / Little Arrows
On The Road Again



Album Title: England ’s Top 12  

Label / Release Number: Studio 33 [AVE 10-010]  

Release Date: October 1968  

Track Listing: Red Balloon / Only One Woman / M'Lady / My Little Lady
Hello I Love You / Listen To Me / Les Bicyclettes De Belsize
A Day Without Love / Ice In The Sun / Light My Fire / Wreck Of The Antoinette
With A Little Help From My Friends



Album Title: No Title  

Label / Release Number: Studio 33 [AVE 10-011]  

Release Date:  November 1968  

Track Listing: Eloise / Breaking Down The Walls Of Heartache
Harper Valley PTA / Rudi's In Love / Wait For Me Marianne
Ain't Got No - I Got Life / Do What You Gotta Do / This Old Heart Of Mine Elenore / If I Knew Then What I Know Now / Mexico / I'm A Tiger
Lily The Pink



Album Title: No Title  

Label / Release Number: Studio 33 [AVE 10-012]  

Release Date: December 1968  

Track Listing: Build Me Up Buttercup / Something's Happening
Son Of A Preacher Man / Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da / A Minute Of Your Time
Private Number / 1-2-3 O'Leary / I Shall Be Released
Don't Forget To Catch Me / Race With The Devil / Albatross
Urban Spaceman



Album Title:  An Avenue Recording Production  

Label / Release Number: Studio 33 [AVE 10-013]  

Release Date:  January 1969  

Track Listing: Move In A Little Closer / Half As Nice / Please Don't Go
Quick Joey Small / Dancing In The Street / The Way It Used To Be
Fox On The Run / Blackberry Way / I Guess I'll Always Love You
You Got Soul / To Love Somebody / Stop Her On Sight (SOS)



Album Title:  Avenue Recordings Limited  

Label / Release Number:  Studio 33 [AVE 10-015]  

Release Date:  March 1969  

Track Listing: Where Do You Go To My Lovely / Soul Sister Brown Sugar Sorry Suzanne / Boom Bang-A-Bang / Breakfast On Pluto / Wichita Lineman Gentle On My Mind / Games People Play / Where Do You Go To My Lovely First Of May / I'll Pick A Rose For My Rose / Surround Yourself With Sorrow



Album Title:  12 Hits  

Label / Release Number:  Studio 33 [AVE 10-016]  

Release Date:  April 1969  

Track Listing:  In The Bad Bad Old Days / I Can Hear Music / Pinball Wizard  Israelites / If I Can Dream Goodbye / I Heard It Through The Grapevine
Hello World / Get Back / Cupid / Come Back And Shake Me / Plastic Man


Back To Avenue Records Recordings I Back To Discography